Book Review: Regeneration – Pat Barker.

I wrote the other day about my first ever book club meeting, and how much I had enjoyed it. Now comes the review, my thoughts and feelings.

For the record, I read this at the first part of a trilogy (I purchased all three parts as a single volume, it was cheaper than the individual parts) and it was on my Kindle. The Amazon page for this is here.

Plot Summary (Slight Risk of Spoilers).

The story revolves around Siegfried Sassoon, the famous poet. Most British people have heard of him because of having to study World War I poetry at school, and his poetry is useful for those studying because it shows a very distinct arc. At the beginning of the war Sassoon’s writing was full of patriotic fervour, but by the end it was a bitter, angry denouncing of those in charge.

Regeneration is set in 1917. Siegfried Sassoon has written a declaration denouncing the war, and an MP is shortly going to read it out in Parliament (everything that happens in the chambers is recorded in Hansard, the official record of government business). As an act of protest it was a dangerous one. Sassoon could have been considered to be stoking dissent in the ranks. Robert Graves, another famous writer persuades Sassoon to accept being sent to a hospital for shell shock.

At the hospital Sassoon meets Rivers, a doctor charged with helping those officers who are suffering from shell shock to get better with an eye to being sent back to the front line.

Reading It.

This is one of those strange books where it isn’t really appropriate to say that I enjoyed it. The story is at times extremely harrowing, and my notes that I made as I read show that. I describe one character as a bastard having read the chapter where he, to all intents and purposes tortures a poor patient. Having said that the writing was excellent, never feeling laboured or stilted in any way. This is especially important in those sections that talk about the awful experiences the soldiers have endured.

I would say that if anyone is setting out to read it they should probably avoid doing what I did. I found myself wondering how much of the story was factual, and what, if any were the product of the author’s imagination. This being 2014 I did what any right minded, internet connected person would and googled Sassoon. Obviously he has a Wikipedia entry, and obviously it tells you about what happens at the end of the book!

Reading More.

I really did find this a striking book to read, and one that I am sure will stay in my memory for a long time. I didn’t want to start reading the rest of the trilogy straight away. It was the sort of read that you feel the need to ‘decompress’ after. But I will, and soon. And I’m looking forward to it.

And Finally.

I have signed up to the Blogging101 blog-prompts. Today’s task was to change the title of my blog, so I’ve done this. But the above is my actual blog entry. I have a list of blog topics in case the prompts don’t work, or require an entry. I’m trying to improve my blogging habit and my writing style.

Leave a Reply

