My iMac Approaches Perfection Asymptotically.

I have written several times about the learning curve of turning my 27″ iMac into the computer that I am happy to use all day every day. Much of this process has revolved around me moving away from using the Mac OS X operating system as much as possible. I run Linux, and, as I’ve noted in other entries I have a very tweaked system.

But there was one thing about the Mac that was a problem from the start, and which I hadn’t been able to sort out. I like to listen to music when I work, but as I share an office, I have to be concious of the impact of the impact of music on others around me.

After installing Linux I found that plugging in headphones cut off the sound from the speakers, just as you would expect, but the sound would resolutely refuse to flow from the headphones.

I have finally found a fix, of sorts. The forum post which explains the solution is here.

Essentially a short Python script is created which resets the headphones configuration and allows sound through the headphones. Apparently it needs re-running every time you re-start the computer, but I can live with this. I already run a couple of scripts when I log into the computer in the morning (to turn on my preferred keyboard layout, launch Dropbox, X Screensaver, Synergy and other useful functions).

So now I can listen to music when I’m at my desk and not disturb others with my choice.

 

Leave a Reply

