My Hand Hurts!

I don’t send many Christmas cards. In that regard (as in many others) I’m a typical bloke, and I don’t keep in touch with friends and family nearly as well as I might. And even in those cards that I do write, I tend to be terse to the point of rudeness.

And yet, my writing muscles are so atrophied, that even this pathetically small amount of writing leaves my arm aching and my handwriting degrading till it resembles the drunken outpourings of a spider that has fallen in an inkwell!

My only defence is that the majority of the writing that I do now is on a keyboard. And when I say the majority I mean 90+%.

This is a bit of a shame as I like the artisan nature of writing (just like I like the artisan nature of knitting and home baking). Maybe I should make an effort to do more written work, even if only for my own amusement.

Leave a Reply

