2013 Book Report 10: The Man With Two Left Feet and Other Stories – PG Wodehouse.

A confession: I had never read any PG Wodehouse before this book. In fact, I didn’t even watch the much praised TV series starring Hugh Laurie and Stephen Fry. I was, essentially a noob, a novice, a PG Wodehouse virgin.

It is possible that this wasn’t a good book to start my journey with, there may be far better in the canon, but I did enjoy this one enormously.

It is a series of short stories, one of which features PG Wodehouse’s most famous comic creations, Bertie Wooster and Jeeves. But the other stories are all stand alone pieces.

I enjoyed these stories. They are fluffy confections, whimsical and funny enough to raise a smile, though not, for me at least, to make me laugh out loud. Obviously the stories are dated, as is some of the language, but they have stood the test of time. And one advantage of reading books like this on a Kindle is that you can look up the obscure and archaic words simply by placing your cursor over them.

I won’t be rushing out to stock up on PG Wodehouse, but I won’t be averse to reading more in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

