Grateful for the quiet days.

As soon as my bus arrived in Cambridge this morning I could tell that the city was quiet. And not just the city, it turned out that work was pretty quiet too. Clearly lots of people are extending their long Christmas holiday just a little more.

Not that I am complaining. I had some network issues that I was trying to address, and I was grateful of the time to do the work without colleagues asking questions or presenting problems to get fixed. And towards the end of the day I was making some changes to the network when I inadvertently changed a setting on one of our switches which is a single point of failure. Having broken the configuration I took the whole department off line!

People did notice, but not many of them. So thanks to those colleagues who took an extra day. I hope your day was a lot less stressful than mine ended up being!

Leave a Reply

